Stopping Sibling Rivalry Through Playfulness

Super-protective Factor: Tales of Parenting by Connection

As most siblings do, my nine year old son and six year old daughter pester one hearts_wallpaper_stop-in-the-name-of-love_1920x1200another sometimes.  One day they were lying on the living room floor about an arm’s length away from one other.   My son started poking my daughter in the leg and she whined back at him, “Sto-o-o-o … o-o-o-o-p it”.  She refused to move or even deal with it, so she got stuck in her whining.

I thought, “OMG, here we go again.  Not now.”  I could see this was escalating, but I also knew that the sooner I could lay a blanket of connection over everyone, the sooner my children could be in touch with their caring, kind selves.  I recognized that I was in a pretty good place so why not just dive right in?

I decided to lay down in the middle of them to see if this little shift would change…

View original post 254 more words

Leave a Reply

